What do we do?

Governors make collective decisions. Our main purpose is to help raise the educational standards and performance of St Barnabas by supporting the work of the Headteacher and school staff. We ensure that the school runs effectively, that quality teaching and learning is happening across the school, that the budget is spent wisely and that St Barnabas provides good value for money.

We make strategic decisions on how the school is run and are answerable to parents, the wider community and most importantly the children who attend St Barnabas. We govern rather than manage, giving direction and focus. The management of the school remains the responsibility of the Headteacher. We are responsible for:

  • Appointing all staff and ensuring the implementation of a range of personnel procedures.
  • Managing the school's budget.
  • Determining aims, policies and priorities for St Barnabas.
  • Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school and setting targets.
  • Ensuring high levels of attendance and good standards of pupil behaviour.
  • Ensuring that all children in the school have access to a broad and balanced curriculum, suitable to age, aptitude and ability, which prepares them for adult life.
  • Ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff.

We meet 6 times annually, once each term. In addition to these full Governing Body meetings our committees also meet at least once a term. The committees are Standards, Resources and Ethos and are made up of a minimum of 3 Governors. The committee members discuss items in depth and make recommendations to the full governing body.

Who are we?

2 Staff Governors, one of whom is the Headteacher, who can be teachers and other staff employed by the school and are elected to the governing body by all staff. Staff governors represent the views of staff at St Barnabas at governing body meetings.

4 Co-opted Governors who are appointed by the governing body. They bring a wide range of skills and expertise to the Governing Body. 

3 Foundation Governors who are appointed by the church. The Priest in Charge of St Pauls parish has to be a foundation governor.

1 Local Authority (LA) Governor who is appointed by the LA which maintains the school. They do not work for the LA but are people who live or work locally and are interested in supporting a local school. LA governors bring different perspectives to the governing body.

2 Parent Governors who are voted onto the governing body by other parents of children who attend the school. Parent governors play an important role in shaping the education and experience of their children at St Barnabas.

Our Governors 

Chair of Governors:

Kate Matheson is a parent governor appointed by the school community on 14th December 2017. Kate is member of the Standards Committee and link governor for Pupil Premium, English, Maths and Anti-bullying.

Vice Chair

Geraint Harris joined our Governing Board in Feburary 2019 and was further appointed as our Local Authority Governor on 14th October 2019, by Bristol. Geraint is Chair of the Resources Committee and link governor for Curriculum and Health & Safety.


Debbie Fisher has been Headteacher since 1st September 2021.

Staff Governor

Zoe Davidson (Maternity Leave 2021-22) is our staff governor appointed by the staff at St Barnabas. Zoe has been a governor since October 2016 and has been re-appointed for her second Term of Office (1st September 2020). Zoe is a member of the Standards Committee.

Giorgos Georgiou is our interim Staff Governor (Maternity Cover 2021-22), appointed 24th May 2021.

Foundation Governors

Antonia Kamara was appointed by the Diocese on 18th May 2020. Antonia is a member of Ethos Comittee and link governor for SEND and Mental Health and Wellbeing.

Richard Sharples was appointed by the Diocese on the 17th July 2019. Richard is Chair of the Ethos Committee and link governor for RE and PSHE.

Co-opted Governors

Annie Muir is a Co-opted governor appointed by the Board on 22nd March 2021. Annie is our link governor for Safeguarding, Child Protection and Looked after Children (LAC).


Melanie Bunce is an Advisor to the Governing Board with non-voting rights, and is the School Business Manager.


Previous members of the governing board 2020 -2021

Jon Barr -  Headteacher from April 2018 and Co- Headteacher from 1st September 2020 to 31st August 2021.

Pete Maxfield - appointed in September 2016, re-appointed for a further Term of Office (1st September 2020 - 31st August 2021)

Melanie Knight - Co-opted Governor appointed by the Board on 13 July 2020 - 8th February 2021

Richard Dixon - Co-opted Governor since 2007 appointed by the Board 14th October 2019 and resigned on 31st January 2021


If you wish to contact our Chair of Governors - Kate Matheson, please do so via the school address or email: