What do we do?

Governors make collective decisions. Our main purpose is to help raise the educational standards and performance of St Barnabas by supporting the work of the Headteacher and school staff. We ensure that the school runs effectively, that quality teaching and learning is happening across the school, that the budget is spent wisely and that St Barnabas provides good value for money.

We make strategic decisions on how the school is run and are answerable to parents, the wider community and most importantly the children who attend St Barnabas. We govern rather than manage, giving direction and focus. The management of the school remains the responsibility of the Headteacher. We are responsible for:

  • Appointing all staff and ensuring the implementation of a range of personnel procedures.
  • Managing the school's budget.
  • Determining aims, policies and priorities for St Barnabas.
  • Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school and setting targets.
  • Ensuring high levels of attendance and good standards of pupil behaviour.
  • Ensuring that all children in the school have access to a broad and balanced curriculum, suitable to age, aptitude and ability, which prepares them for adult life.
  • Ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff.

We meet 6 times annually, once each term. In addition to these full Governing Body meetings our committees also meet at least once a term. The committees are Standards, Resources and Ethos and are made up of a minimum of 3 Governors. The committee members discuss items in depth and make recommendations to the full governing body.

Who are we?

2 Staff Governors, one of whom is the Headteacher, who can be teachers and other staff employed by the school and are elected to the governing body by all staff. Staff governors represent the views of staff at St Barnabas at governing body meetings.

4 Co-opted Governors who are appointed by the governing body. They bring a wide range of skills and expertise to the Governing Body. 

3 Foundation Governors who are appointed by the church. The Priest in Charge of St Pauls parish has to be a foundation governor.

1 Local Authority (LA) Governor who is appointed by the LA which maintains the school. They do not work for the LA but are people who live or work locally and are interested in supporting a local school. LA governors bring different perspectives to the governing body.

2 Parent Governors who are voted onto the governing body by other parents of children who attend the school. Parent governors play an important role in shaping the education and experience of their children at St Barnabas.

Our Governors 

Kate Matheson is a Parent governor, firstly appointed on 14th December 2017. She is Chair of the Full Governing Body and a member of the Standards committee. Kate is also the Link governor for Pupil Premium.

Geraint Harris is our LA Governor since 14th October 2019; he joined the governing board in February 2019. Geraint is Vice - Chair of the Governing Board, member of the Resources Committee and also Link governor for Curriculum.

Jon Barr has been Headteacher since April 2018.

Richard Dixon is a Co-opted Governor since 2007. Richard’s current four year term began on 14th October 2019, following the reconstitution of the Governing Body. He is a member of the Standards Committee and the link governor for Safeguarding, Child Protection and Looked after Children. Richard is also the SIP governor for personal development, welfare and behaviour.

Zoe Davidson is a Staff Governor. She has been a governor since 3rd October 2016, which is when her current four year term began. She is a member of the Standards Committee and the Maths Link governor.

Pete Maxfield is a Co-opted Governor. He was appointed on 5th September 2016. He is Chair of the Standards Committee and the SIP governor for outcomes for pupils. Pete is also Link governor for Assessments.

Richard Sharples is a Foundation Governors and was appointed by the Diocese on the 17th July 2019. Richard is also a member of the Ethos Committee.

Previous members of the governing board 2018 -20

Therese Gillespie was a Co-opted Governor, appointed 14th October 2019 - 31st March 2020

John Moffett was a Co-opted governor firstly appointed on 19th November 2017 and resigned 31st March 2020.

Sharon Price was a Foundation Governor, firstly appointed on 5th September 2013 and resigned on 31st October 2019.

Jill Yeomans was a Foundation Governor, firstly appointed in 2007 and resigned on 15th July 2019.

Shelagh Austin was a Local Authority Governor, firstly appointed in February 2008 and resigned in January 2019.

Liz Perry resigned from her post as Ex-Officio Priest in charge in February 2019.


If you wish to contact our Chair of Governors - Kate Matheson, please do so via the school address or email:

T. 0117 377 2391 E.